Reviews

4.9
based on 11 reviews
Donna (Jackson )
Awesome Getaway

We were so happy with our cottage. We truly enjoyed our 1st family trip to Sunset Shores and plan to make it an annual trip. We enjoyed fishing, the beach and of course the campfires. The owners truly take pride in this place and I highly recommend it. Thank you for a great family vacations!!

Thank you, Donna. Hope to see you again. We try our best to make this the ideal, relaxation spot for a getaway. Thank you for such a lovely review. We truly appreciate the kind words

replied by the owner (6/12/2021 4:42:23 PM)

Not specified  |  #1 Garden Cottage  |  stayed in 6/2021

Bruce &Deanna Temperley (Brownstown )
Senior Recruiter

We have Missed Sunset Shores. I and my family have made many past visits there. We have been fortunate to have stayed there during all 4 seasons, all have been momentous in their own very special way. Finally! we were able to make our trip there again May 2021. Thank God the doors finally have been opened for Travel, Restaurant's and being able to roam our beautiful State at will. See you Soon! Thanks for being There Sunset Shores! Bruce & Deanna

Thank you, Bruce & Dee! Love having you here!

replied by the owner (5/31/2021 1:15:50 PM)

Mature couple  |  #3 Up North Cottage  |  stayed in 5/2021

Andrea (Mt Pleasant)
Winter weekend getaway

Booked the Golf Cottage for a winter weekend away with my two littles girls, ages 8 and 10. They loved staying in “a real cabin,” playing in the snow and in the little playground across the street. Perfect size for our group. Bring your own drinking water: the water in the cottage has a very minerally taste! Thinking of booking a summer getaway too, to be able to enjoy the lake, beach, and all else.

Thank you for your stay, Andrea. We look forward to having you again. Lots to do here in the summer. You will love it!

replied by the owner (2/9/2021 2:17:14 PM)

Family with young children  |  #2 Golf Cottage  |  stayed in 2/2021

garry Barksdale
Great stay

we were in need of a place close to Clare and found this jewel. We enjoyed our stay and was close enough to be able to see family in the area. We will defiantly stay here the next time we come to the area.

Glad that you were able to stay at Sunset Shores. We look forward to having you again. Maybe when the weather is warm?

replied by the owner (2/22/2021 6:38:00 PM)

Not specified  |  #4 Fishing Cottage  |  stayed in 2/2021

Martha bechard (Monroe mi)
Mrs

Just got back from 4 wonderful relaxing days! The cottage and all areas were spotless. The owners were so helpful . And ( our neighbors ). Others staying there were so friendly . Can’t wait to bring my grandchildren back next year!,

Martha, we are so happy to hear that you had a great, relaxing time. We look forward to having you back

replied by the owner (9/20/2020 10:41:21 AM)

Not specified  |  #2 Golf Cottage  |  stayed in 9/2020

Kelly & Heather Leszczynski (Warren, Mi)
IT Professional

When Covid hit my fiancée and I had to make some major changes to our wedding plans. We contacted Sunset Shores and during our first conversation with Kristen we knew it would be the perfect place! Kristen, Jeff, Dawn and many others helped make our wedding magical and worry free. I was able to provide Kristen a budget and some ideas and she made it all happen. I'm a worrier by nature and literally didn't get nervous at all until I was walking down to the ceremony on the beach. This was the perfect location for the intimate ceremony we envisioned. From the lighting, to the flowers, to the delusions meal. The entire family loved what was done and couldn't stop telling us how woderful it all turned out. Heather and I can't thank you all enough for the amazing memories. We'll be back for sure!

Thank you Heather & Kelly! I said it before & saying it again, it was an honor hosting & planning your wedding. All of us enjoyed having your family with us for the weekend. Beautiful couple!

replied by the owner (9/27/2020 10:51:23 AM)

Group  |  #1 Garden Cottage  |  stayed in 9/2020

Larry J Magiera
August 2020

We had great weather and as always enjoyed our stay, this was our 4th year of staying at Sunset shores

Family with young children  |  #4 Fishing Cottage  |  stayed in 8/2020

Becky
Rented all 4 cottages..

We rented all 4 cottages for a week and had a blast. Each family had their own cottage and we spent time together at the beach and in the main lodge to play pool, darts and eat some freshly made popcorn. The kids had a blast on the large beach and the floating dock. Collectively, we also loved the boating, BBQing on our own private decks, bonfires at night, volleyball, cornhole....just so much! Thank you Kristen for creating a wonderful week that our full family will never forget. Lots of memories made that will stay with us all across many generations. :)

Family with young children  |  #3 Up North Cottage  |  stayed in 8/2020

Rachel (Farmington )
Teacher

I stayed there for 45 days and it was amazing. Beautiful space, beautiful people. Hands down will go back to visit!

Single traveller  |  #2 Golf Cottage  |  stayed in 4/2020

Jessica Jeffries (Howell, MI)
Love Sunset Shores

My husband and I stayed at Sunset Shores and had a lovely time. A bit rainy one day, but other than that , great weather. Our cottage had two bedrooms with linens plus extra. We were able to bring food with us to cook & grill out. I love the secluded, peaceful location. The hosts were great & answered all of our questions. Jeff and Kristen welcomed us and Jeff gave us a tour of the property. We brought our lab and he had a great time exploring too! We definitely will be back! Hopefully with family in tow.

Guests with pets  |  #4 Fishing Cottage  |  stayed in 9/2019

Book Now
Loading...
Upps!
You're running a web browser we don't fully support. Please upgrade it for a better experience.
Our site works best with Google Chrome.
How to upgrade the browser