Reviews

4.9
based on 15 reviews
Christopher Klepp (Roseville)
Annual family/friends trip

Awesome stay at Sunset Shores as usual. Kristen and Jeff were fantastic as always!! This was our 20th year visiting Sunset Shores and hopefully we'll have 20 more to go! A very fun and relaxing vacation.

Thank you, Chris. We always look forward to seeing all of you year after year. Another great week! See you next year

replied by the owner (8/18/2021 9:47:13 PM)

Group  |  #2 Golf Cottage  |  stayed in 8/2021

JenniferPhillips
Can’t wait to book again

My family enjoyed this so much , we were all family and we needed this family time , the accommodations were awesome , the host Jeff was friendly and welcoming , the cabins were clean and comfortable. This is a hidden gem for sure , we want to keep it to ourselves !! See ya next year Great place

Thank you, Jennifer and family, for joining us at Sunset Shores. We look forward to having you again. -Jeff & Kristen

replied by the owner (8/25/2021 8:45:58 PM)

Family with young children  |  #1 Garden Cottage  |  stayed in 8/2021

Chip & Trish O. (Canton)
Family getaway

This was our first trip to Sunset Shores and couldn't be happier. Our cottage and the property are well kept and we had easy access to fishing, swimming and the surrounding area. Jeff and Kristen are wonderful hosts, attentive, friendly and easily accessible and made our stay that much more enjoyable. We WILL be back! Thanks again,

Thank you, Chip & Trish. We enjoyed meeting you & having you with us. Hope to see all of you again soon

replied by the owner (8/7/2021 12:19:52 PM)

Family with older children  |  #1 Garden Cottage  |  stayed in 7/2021

Donna (Jackson )
Awesome Getaway

We were so happy with our cottage. We truly enjoyed our 1st family trip to Sunset Shores and plan to make it an annual trip. We enjoyed fishing, the beach and of course the campfires. The owners truly take pride in this place and I highly recommend it. Thank you for a great family vacations!!

Thank you, Donna. Hope to see you again. We try our best to make this the ideal, relaxation spot for a getaway. Thank you for such a lovely review. We truly appreciate the kind words

replied by the owner (6/12/2021 4:42:23 PM)

Not specified  |  #1 Garden Cottage  |  stayed in 6/2021

Michele Harrington (Clare)
Nice family place for fun or quiet

My sister came from California in 2019 with my nephews and stayed in the Golf Cottage we had so much there. I was happy to return again. We just spent a week there in Cottage #3. I have a teenager and a 9 yr old. We had a good time even though it rained most of the time. We did get some fishing, swimming, and grilling in but not much. We enjoyed playing board games and spending time together there. Lots of birds to watch like ducks, loons, and even a heron. The deck is nice to have morning coffee on and enjoy the view. The kitchen was great and having 2 bedrooms was nice. The beds were comfortable. No a/c but the ceiling fan is awesome and definitely kept us cooler. We did use the WiFi and cable which came in handy on the rainy days. The other guests were nice and everyone there was respectful. We even brought our dog. Actually almost every cabin had their pets with them. It nice to be able to bring our dog with us. I definitely will be returning here and recommending this place to others.

Happy to have you, Michele. Glad to hear that everyone had a good time. I appreciate the review, Until next summer............

replied by the owner (6/28/2021 8:51:39 AM)

Family with young children  |  #3 Up North Cottage  |  stayed in 6/2021

Bruce &Deanna Temperley (Brownstown )
Senior Recruiter

We have Missed Sunset Shores. I and my family have made many past visits there. We have been fortunate to have stayed there during all 4 seasons, all have been momentous in their own very special way. Finally! we were able to make our trip there again May 2021. Thank God the doors finally have been opened for Travel, Restaurant's and being able to roam our beautiful State at will. See you Soon! Thanks for being There Sunset Shores! Bruce & Deanna

Thank you, Bruce & Dee! Love having you here!

replied by the owner (5/31/2021 1:15:50 PM)

Mature couple  |  #3 Up North Cottage  |  stayed in 5/2021

Andrea (Mt Pleasant)
Winter weekend getaway

Booked the Golf Cottage for a winter weekend away with my two littles girls, ages 8 and 10. They loved staying in “a real cabin,” playing in the snow and in the little playground across the street. Perfect size for our group. Bring your own drinking water: the water in the cottage has a very minerally taste! Thinking of booking a summer getaway too, to be able to enjoy the lake, beach, and all else.

Thank you for your stay, Andrea. We look forward to having you again. Lots to do here in the summer. You will love it!

replied by the owner (2/9/2021 2:17:14 PM)

Family with young children  |  #2 Golf Cottage  |  stayed in 2/2021

garry Barksdale
Great stay

we were in need of a place close to Clare and found this jewel. We enjoyed our stay and was close enough to be able to see family in the area. We will defiantly stay here the next time we come to the area.

Glad that you were able to stay at Sunset Shores. We look forward to having you again. Maybe when the weather is warm?

replied by the owner (2/22/2021 6:38:00 PM)

Not specified  |  #4 Fishing Cottage  |  stayed in 2/2021

Martha bechard (Monroe mi)
Mrs

Just got back from 4 wonderful relaxing days! The cottage and all areas were spotless. The owners were so helpful . And ( our neighbors ). Others staying there were so friendly . Can’t wait to bring my grandchildren back next year!,

Martha, we are so happy to hear that you had a great, relaxing time. We look forward to having you back

replied by the owner (9/20/2020 10:41:21 AM)

Not specified  |  #2 Golf Cottage  |  stayed in 9/2020

Kelly & Heather Leszczynski (Warren, Mi)
IT Professional

When Covid hit my fiancée and I had to make some major changes to our wedding plans. We contacted Sunset Shores and during our first conversation with Kristen we knew it would be the perfect place! Kristen, Jeff, Dawn and many others helped make our wedding magical and worry free. I was able to provide Kristen a budget and some ideas and she made it all happen. I'm a worrier by nature and literally didn't get nervous at all until I was walking down to the ceremony on the beach. This was the perfect location for the intimate ceremony we envisioned. From the lighting, to the flowers, to the delusions meal. The entire family loved what was done and couldn't stop telling us how woderful it all turned out. Heather and I can't thank you all enough for the amazing memories. We'll be back for sure!

Thank you Heather & Kelly! I said it before & saying it again, it was an honor hosting & planning your wedding. All of us enjoyed having your family with us for the weekend. Beautiful couple!

replied by the owner (9/27/2020 10:51:23 AM)

Group  |  #1 Garden Cottage  |  stayed in 9/2020

Book Now
Loading...
Upps!
You're running a web browser we don't fully support. Please upgrade it for a better experience.
Our site works best with Google Chrome.
How to upgrade the browser